2015 Team Announcement

Team Mike’s Bikes powered by Equator Coffees is proud to announce the 2015 team roster.  2014 was an outstanding year for the team, highlighted by James Laberge winning the program’s first national championship in the U23 Men’s Criterium. Walton Brush added to the national championship medal tally by taking home a bronze in the Men’s Elite Road Race. On the local scene, the team took home both individual, in Roman Kilun, and team honors in the season-long NCNCA Premier Series. To underscore the team’s depth, all 12 riders took home victories in 2014, culminating with Dana William’s NCNCA Elite Criterium Championship.

Mike’s Bikes will continue its overwhelming support as the team’s title sponsor for the 5th year running. Mike's Bikes has been California's cycling authority since 1964 and is the largest independent bike dealer in the US with 11 locations throughout Northern California.  Their deep commitment to improving the cycling community locally and globally manifests itself in their support of our team and our racing scene.

Equator Coffee and Teas will also remain the team’s presenting sponsor. Equator Coffees and Teas is a premier coffee roaster located in San Rafael, California.  Driven by quality and sustainability, Equator provides elite coffee blends to the finest establishments around the world and to their growing family of community-focused coffee shops.

An exciting new addition to the team sponsor list is Toyota. Their position as the most respected car brand in the world is a perfect match for the values and reputation of our team.  Their drive to create the best vehicles on the planet and their long-term support of cycling is a welcome addition!

In addition to these sponsors, the team is very fortunate to have multiple more remaining from 2014. They are listed below.

For 2015, Team Mike’s Bikes powered by Equator Coffees’ main focus will be Northern California races. However, the team will travel to select NRC and NCC events throughout the country for sponsor promotion and rider development. The team will also be competing in the 2015 USA Cycling Elite National Championships in Lake Tahoe, with the goal of winning another national championship.

While the team is sad to see them go, we are very proud that 2014 team riders James Laberge and Walton Brush have signed contracts with professional teams and will not be returning to the 2015 squad. They have been valuable riders and while they will be missed, the team is proud of their accomplishments and advancement to the professional level. Dana Williams is also retiring from the Elite Team to focus on his family and coaching business, but expect to see him racing with our Master’s squad.

The majority of the 2014 team will be returning in 2015. New additions to the team include Nate English and Max Korus. Max Korus is an experienced all-rounder and the 2011 USA Elite Road Champion . Nate English is a stage-racer extraordinaire with impressive wins at the Mt. Hood Cycling Classic,  Everest Challenge Stage Race, and the Joe Martin Stage Race TT. Former team member Tyler Brandt will be back with the program in 2015 after traveling the NRC circuit the last 2 years and will be joined by 2014 standout and Giro di San Francisco winner, Garrett Hankins.

You can follow the team through:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TeamMikesBikes

Twitter: https://twitter.com/TMBEquator

Website: www.teammikesbikes.com


2015 Team Mike’s Bikes powered by Equator Coffees Roster:


Returning Riders:

Adam Switters

Chris Riekert

Colin Daw

Craig Fellers

Marcus Smith (U23)

Rainier Schaefer

Reese Levine (U23)

Roman Kilun

Travis Lyons (U23)


New Additions:

Garrett Hankins (U23)

Max Korus

Nate English

Tyler Brandt


Team Sponsors:

Mike’s Bikes

Equator Coffee and Teas





Pro Bar





Smith Optics

Go Pro



Violich Farms